My Pregnancy: 25 week update

Happy Monday friends! How was your weekend? Ours was low key but fun – although I suppose not that low key because it definitely left me exhausted and in need of a really good night’s sleep. But I always enjoy getting back to a weekly routine, so I’m glad to be back after an off week due to all that snow/ice! Not sure where you are, but in Myrtle Beach we pretty much got all ice – no snow. It wasn’t nearly as bad as the meteorologists said it would be, but it definitely made driving a bit dangerous. We didn’t know exactly how bad it would be since everyone seemed to be panicking a bit, so we actually skipped town for a few days to avoid the worst. It wasn’t so bad, but at least we knew we’d miss the worst of it!

So this morning I’m actually 26 weeks pregnant! Which also means ONE WEEK left until my THIRD trimester! I cannot fathom that. In the big picture it seems like time is crawling by, but the weeks really do fly. Just a few short months until we meet this little bug! So here’s a recap of my 25th week:

PS – Sorry for the lack of bump viewing here. It was obviously still really cold outside so I really didn’t want to take my jacket off. Hopefully you can still see the belly growth! Also, don’t mind my closed eyes, haha.

25 weeks 225 weeks 1

What Baby is Doing

From What to Expect: She now weighs a full two pounds and measures nine-plus inches. And this week, her eyes, which until now were developing under fused eyelids, start to open. Of course, there’s not much to see in there, but if your baby spots a bright light (or hears a loud noise) near your belly, you may notice an increase in fetal activity. (“Hey, I’m in here, Mommy! Where’s the party!”) What accounts for that response? Her brain is more developed and sophisticated. Your baby’s brain-wave activity is kicking in at this stage in fetal development, which means your little one can not only hear noises but can now also respond to them. Not in so many words, of course, but with an increase in pulse rate or activity.

And talking about activity, at your baby’s current height and weight (about nine inches tall and two pounds), and at the rate she is growing, your baby will soon be feeling a little cramped in your uterus. Not to worry, there’s still plenty of room for your baby to grow. It just means your gymnast will have less room for those somersaults, cartwheels, and other Olympic feats.”

How I’m Changing

I definitely feel like little girl is running out of room in there! I’ve routinely been feeling her movements on BOTH sides of the belly at one time, which tells me she’s definitely trying to stretch things out Smile I feel kicks all during the day and I absolutely LOVE it! Also, putting socks and boots on is pretty much a comedy show now, and I’m not really sure how shaving my legs is gonna happen from here on out. No seriously – how does that work??!! I can manage it but it sure isn’t comfortable! Most days I opt for shoes I can slip on or if I do wear boots/socks I have to get Dustin to help. I feel like these are only a couple of many things I feel like I’ve come across much earlier than I was expecting! I keep thinking to myself, “Isn’t this supposed to be something I don’t deal with until the third trimester?! What gives?!” Still feeling lower back pain, which I know is normal so I’m trying to make sure I keep my core controlled. I’ve also noticed I can’t sit in one position for very long before needing to move and change positions (sleep included) which is annoying but again, I think normal.

How far along? 25 weeks

Baby’s size? Eggplant

Total weight gain: Unsure. Should find out this week!

Maternity clothes? A few new things this week! But first can I just say that it makes me SO UPSET that NONE of the stores in Myrtle Beach that usually carry maternity clothes (Old Navy, Gap, Target) have maternity sections here. Whyyyyy?! I find this quite insulting. Nevertheless, I did find some great deals at Old Navy online so I snagged a few shirts in preparation for springtime as my belly grows. I really just realized how few shirts I have that I can continue to wear as it gets warm and the belly gets bigger, so I’ll definitely probably need a few more before this baby gets here!

Stretch marks? So far so good!

Sleep: Eh. Not terrible, but not fantastic either. I can usually sleep through the night but I definitely toss and turn a lot as my hips become really uncomfortable. I think this has made me much more of a light sleeper. I keep hearing that a pregnancy body pillow will change my life so I’m debating getting one.. but we’ll see.

Best moment this week: Hm. Probably this weekend! The weather really warmed up and we just had a great time eating with friends and hanging out.

Exercise FAIL. The snow really threw me off this week obviously since we had to stay indoors, and being out of town I didn’t do my DVD either. This week should be better though!

Miss Anything? Just moving around easily, really. I miss feeling light and active and comfortable sleeping. It’s all worth it though!!!! Smile

Movement: Oh yes. From every angle, every side! Love it!

Food cravings: None this week really…

Anything making you queasy or sick? Nope.

Gender: GIRL!

Baby Items: Yes! A few little outfits – 2 newborn and 1 three month I think. Again.. reeeeally trying to hold off until baby showers happen and then asses what we need from there, but YALL. Baby girl clothes are seriously to DIE for! It’s so hard to stay away! I figure she’s likely going to go through several outfits a day anyway so it can’t hurt to have them. I’ll keep the tags on and if I have excess I can always take some back.

Symptoms: Getting full fast, lower back pain, hip pain, acne, extreme thirst, dry hair…

Belly Button in or out? OUT!

Wedding rings on or off? On. However I have noticed my wrists (which have always been freakishly small) have swollen a bit and I no longer can wear my watch on the tightest hole. Doesn’t bug me but it was weird to discover. I wasn’t kidding when I said everything grows!

Happy or Moody most of the time? Happy I think!

Looking forward to: Still a haircut. But also Valentines Day and the next couple of weeks! Honestly I’m just glad to be done with the month of January. Yay!

Signature

2 thoughts on “My Pregnancy: 25 week update

Leave a Reply

